The original lighthouse at Peggys Cove was built in 1868. It was a wooden structure featuring a beacon that was lit by a kerosene oil lamp. A residence for the lighthouse keeper was incorporated into the building so that a permanent keeper could be stationed there..
The current lighthouse that stands today was built in August of 1914 and will be 106 years old in 2020. The lighthouse that stands today and is located 18 m away from its predecessor. It is a traditional octagonal design and is made out of concrete and not wood. It stands 15.2 m high.
The current lighthouse that stands today was built in August of 1914 and will be 106 years old in 2020.
During World War II, Peggys Cove Lighthouse served as a radio relay station for the Royal Canadian Navy (RCN). It helped monitor ship traffic that was arriving or departing from nearby Halifax Harbour.
In 1954, Hurricane Edna swept through the region and heavily damaged the original building where the lighthouse keeper lived. As such, It was determined that it was no longer suitable for use as a residence and the Canadian Government decided to tear it down and not rebuild a new one. By 1958, that lighthouse keeper had retired from his job and the decision was made to automate the facility.